Skip to content

Colored Lens Filter DIY

June 4, 2013

DSC_9220I love new photography tricks! I was so happy to find a plastic box that was covering my friend’s left over food because I was able to repurpose it for this project! One of my favorite things about using film is when light leaks in because it creates a red or orange hue over the photos. But if you aren’t using film all the time then you can create that same feel with your digital camera! Take a look at how to do it!…

camera filter

1. Trace the shape of your lens cap on a scrap piece of paper 2. Add a little extension onto the circular shape (you will use that extension in step 6) 3. Cut out 4. Trace on a clear plastic sheet and cut out 5. Create designs using different colors on each plastic cut out 6. Use a hole punch to punch a hole in the extension you cut out of the plastic 7. Cut a piece of string just long enough to reach from the camera strap to the tip of your lens 8. Tie string from each hole punch to your camera where strap is connected.

I love this DIY! I love it because you can have a few different color options conveniently by your side at all times while talking photos! As I took practice photos I also had the fun discovery of using 2 of the filters at once. Woo hoo for double filters! I can’t wait to take more photos with these fun filters! Check out some of my practice pics below…

camera filter diy

I hope you guys have as much fun with this DIY as I’ve had! Have a week full of funzy things!

hearts signature

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 7:15 pm

    Ooh… I’m going to try this with one of my concepts for the Photography Styling Challenge: http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/introducing-the-photography-styling-challenge/. Thanks! ~M.

    http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/

  2. July 23, 2013 2:58 am

    What kind of markers/pens are those?

Leave a Reply

