Skip to content

Sleeve Project Restyle

April 9, 2013

bow dress

Oh hey guys! I thrifted this grandma dress last year, and have finally restyled it! The dress was just a little bit too grandma-y for me. So now it’s a fun new “play dress”! What I did was cut off the sleeves about an inch under the arm hole, hemmed the edge, then took the discarded fabric and sewed it into 2 little bows to put on the side of the sleeves. I wanted the dress to maintain a vintage vibe. Now the dress is much more fun to wear!

Side note: In the bottom left picture I’m standing on Mallory‘s longboard [which I clearly don’t know how to use, considering I’m riding it backwards]. Mallory cut and applied the chevron-shaped grip tape on the board herself! I remember when she did it–the process seemed tedious, but the work paid off!

Good stuff dawgs!

hearts signature

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 7:06 am

    It’s pretty groovy. I do not know how you’d make bows out of the material look so good, but I guess you had a template OR you tied it into a bow and sewed the middle? I’ll have to explore…

    • April 16, 2013 12:16 pm

      It’s actually very easy to do! I guess I will just have to make a new post showing how to do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

