Skip to content

5 MinuteToMakeIt Headband

March 25, 2011

Just today, I remembered when my friend, Alex, and I took a visit to American Apparel and saw a super cute headband that was knotted in the front. As Alex and I both are po’ folks, we made the decision of not spending $20 dollars, or however much it was, on the simply cute headband because we both knew we could easily make it ourselves.

Today I took on the challenge and it literally takes 5 minutes-or maybe even less-to make this headband. So I am going to show you!!!!! Step by step, just like the old days…kind of…I’m not really sure if this is what we did in the old days but it just sounded right. SO…

1. Find an old cardigan/shirt/skirt/dress/whatevs but preferably something knitted or with stretch. This lovely yet slightly ugly old cardigan caught my attention while it was bundled up in the corner of my room. I have no idea who’s it was, how it got in my corner, or how long its been there–but it worked well for this project!

2. Cut off the bottom hem of the cardigan (or whatever you are using), so it doesn’t show when you wear it as a headband. (Yes, you aren’t crazy, the sleeve is missing. Because first I cut off the sleeve to use but it wasn’t long enough. My baaaaaad).

3. Measure 5 1/2 inches up from the new length  and mark it with a pen or pencil or marker or chalk, fabric pencil, eye liner, mayo–whatever suits your comfort. But you’d probably be best with pen or pencil, that also might be what is most socially exeptable, but ya know, people express themselves in different ways I guess…

4. Cut the dashed line you made with whatever was suitable for you to mark with. This part is what will be used to make the headband.

5. Now, from what you just cut, on either sides, cut off the button holes and the buttons so it doesn’t show on the finished product.

6. Take the long piece you cut off from step 4 and measure it around your head so you know where to tie the knot. Pretty self explanitory…But I have a picture for it anyways! Because I know the only reason some of you come to this blog is because there is a slight chance you might see my face.

7. Once you tie a big knot you can remove it from your head to tie more knots! Personally, I think it looks cool to twist it around and knot it all over the place. After making your last couple of knots super tight, cut off the extra fabric to clean it up a little.

8. And the finished product!! I now give you permission to strut down the hallways and make all your friends jeal.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Allegra permalink
    August 5, 2012 12:26 pm

    love it!

  2. Cat permalink
    August 6, 2012 8:14 pm

    This is adorable! Love it a ton. ♥

  3. Marisol permalink
    September 2, 2012 8:44 pm

    so trying this!!

  4. October 11, 2012 4:31 pm

    So cute! i am totally going to try this. This girl i know wore one of these and I asked her where she got it and it was some rooty tooty expensive store so i brushed it off. definitely sharing your tutorial with my readers! thanks!

    • 23skidoo permalink*
      October 11, 2012 5:36 pm

      i can relate! thanks for liking it enough to reblog 🙂 hopefully you like the headband when you make it!

  5. October 11, 2012 4:32 pm

    Reblogged this on The Inbetween Girls and commented:
    Check out this tutorial from My23skidoo! Don’t shell out money for things you can make yourself.

  6. Holly J permalink
    October 12, 2012 1:42 pm

    Love this idea!

  7. MaggieJSuffolk permalink
    February 1, 2013 2:30 pm

    Found this yesterday, loved it, made it before breakfast this morning, wore it until I went out this afternoon. Fantastic – thank you so much.

  8. Gabrielle permalink
    February 19, 2013 6:52 pm

    This is super cute and was super easy to make!! The headband goes with almost every outfit and it looks good with my pixie cut. Awesome Job with the tutorial! You crack me up:)

  9. caroline permalink
    July 2, 2013 8:29 pm

    This is super cute! I bought a t-shirt that was a little too long, so I cut the bottom off and tried a variation of this headband. I’ve worn the headband before even wearing the shirt! 🙂
    Thanks for the tutorial!

  10. May 21, 2015 1:14 pm

    When You cut the butTons off does it leave a hole if that makes sense

Leave a Reply

