Skip to content

The Doubtful Guest…

February 16, 2011

Last year my sister, Morgan, came upon something very special…if you are familiar with poetry or writing at all, then I am sure you must be familiar with a man named Edward Gorey. And if you aren’t familiar…well, you really should be.

This special something that Morgan came upon was an actual Edward Gorey calendar that held his poem/short story “The Doubtful Guest”. When Morgan started to read the calendar she was laughing so hard, tears were flying everywhere. I have pictures to prove it. Buuuuuut she probably wouldn’t want me to show those….

It wasn’t until just recently I stumbled upon this very special calendar once again and how could I not share? That would almost be a mean joke if I kept the brilliance of Mr. Gorey to myself. So with that said, this is….The Doubtful Guest…

Each illustration is so perfect. I think everything about this is just brilliant. Edward Gorey would be a great next door neighbor.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. rich permalink
    March 20, 2011 3:45 pm

    when i first heard this and realised what it was about i was blown away,its fantastic

  2. May 2, 2012 10:39 am

    AH! I love it! I read this book to my baby girl every night before bed! I am getting ready to write a piece comparing the “guest” to my cat, Methos (bear with me.lol) I’m gonna borrow some of these pics and link your blog, is that cool?

  3. Aditya permalink
    May 22, 2015 1:59 am

    I came across one of these in the unlikeliest ways. This page is just what I was looking for. Thanks !

Leave a Reply

