Skip to content

Courtney’s Capes

November 10, 2010

I still can’t really believe this just happened. But to fill you in, at the beginning of the school year, a couple of my friends and I decided to start something called Terrific Tuesday and it’s for the seniors at my school to dress up as something fun every Tuesday (for example: hobo, the elderly, ninja, typical tourist, favorite Harry Potter character, 80’s revival, and many more). Why? Because we are seniors this year which just gives us all the more reason to do so.

So anyways, this Tuesday, I kicked off the start of Terrific Tuesday with ”cape day” (keepin it simple for the first one right?), and so ya know, I sent out a message to everyone informing them and all that. The night before, I was pretty much POSITIVE there was going to be a total of maybe 3 of us who were going to remember to wear capes….well, I get to school the next day and, yes, I was the one ONLY single person wearing a cape! So I was like, ok great, this is slightly embarrassing. But then I was like actually this cape is really warm and comfy so I’m just gonna play it cool. –So here’s the good part–some people knew why I was wearing the cape, a lot of people were confused and I think maybe even scared to ask me because they didn’t want to hurt my feelings, but then several people thought I was making a fashion statement, as if capes are the up and coming fashion! And its kinda funny, because I literally just took some old jersey fabric I had and cut a big rectangle and tied it around my neck, absolutely no creative thinking went into this.

So when I got to my english class, my teacher thought it was so cool that I was wearing a cape and she personally asked me to bring capes back in fashion (which makes me wonder when they were EVER in fashion? When super heroes existed? If they ever existed? I don’t know.) After that she asked the class if anyone would pay me to make them a cape and everyone raised their hands….! Now, I’m not sure what everyone was really thinking, but some kids really seriously want me to make a cape for them now……hahah. I guess you never really do know what will come back into fashion. I mean, fanny packs have made it this far, right? So now, I am designing a cape for a student in my class with bowling balls and fire on it. 23 Skidoo will not only be woman’s apparel, but also the newest trend: High Fashion Capes. Look out people. You heard it here first.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. morgan. permalink
    November 10, 2010 6:31 am

    LOVE the story and pictures! court, you’re the cutest.

    please don’t make me a cape.

    • November 11, 2010 5:02 am

      ohhhh come onnnnnnnnnn! i think you secretly want one, ehh??????

  2. alex permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:49 am

    court i loved your school spirit on tuesday and your cape…..i promise to participate in next tuesdays dress up day! but i love your blog and your pictures….it’s so you!:)

    • November 11, 2010 5:02 am

      hahahah thanks alex! even though i was the only one i still had fun wearing it so it wasn’t too bad. i actually felt pretty cool because it was so warm and when i walked fast it blew in the wind of my speedy feet 🙂

Leave a Reply

